Cloudy with a Chance of Games

The slow creep towards Bethesda being part of the Xbox family has taken a big or giant step forward today as EU has approved the deal. This appeared to be the last sticking point for the deal to happen. The approval of the deal can be found on the EU website here.

Update

Press release from the EU Commission.

The Commission concluded that the proposed acquisition would raise no competition concerns, given the combined entity’s limited market position upstream and the presence of strong downstream competitors in the distribution of video games.

It is unclear how this deal will affect Zenimax games going forward and if they will be exclusive to Xbox. What we do know is that is Xbox will honor existing deals that are in play for example Deathloop which has a year’s exclusivity period on PlayStation. Also, Elder Scrolls Online will continue to be supported and other games will be on a case-by-case basis.

We should hear more on this in the coming hours and days on this deal not only to 100% confirm the deal but also how the exclusivity period will work.

Speaking of Xbox, Cloudy with a Chance of Games are proud to announce a new section dedicated to Xbox called The Green Room. The Green Room is our focus on Xbox which will include a Xbox Podcast, Playalongs, Streams and more! The first podcast will be happening this Thursday at 8pm UK, 3pm Eastern Noon Pacific. It will feature Andy Morphs, Barry, Happy Cloud Gamer, Kelly and myself Duncan! Will hope you will join us.

By Duncan Baxter

I have been playing since the Commodore 64 days and have basically played every console going since then including the Ouya! I have been a fan of cloud gaming since the Onlive days and that was my favorite platform. Cloud gaming will revolutionize how we play games going forward and it is just a matter of time when it takes off.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: