Cloudy with a Chance of Games

A week is a long time in gaming and this week is no different. On Monday we had the news that shook the cloud gaming community in that Stadia and Google were exiting game development. Today, via Bloomberg we have the news that Amazon is continuing to support game development via Amazon Game Studios.

“Some businesses take off in the first year, and others take many years,” wrote Jassy, currently the head of Amazon’s cloud computing division and Frazzini’s boss. “Though we haven’t consistently succeeded yet in AGS, I believe we will if we hang in there.”

Amazon have come under fire in last number of weeks due to alleged practices at the studios and the amount of money they are spending in creating games. The rumoured amount of money a year they are spending is around $500 million a year.

This will be welcome news to both Amazon Game Studios and Luna that the game division is being backed. This year New World is due to launch on PC and it also looks like it is coming to Luna as a New World game listing appeared on Luna.

We at Cloudy will be discussing the Amazon news tomorrow February 4th at 8pm UK, 3pm Eastern and Midday Pacific on our YouTube Channel.

By Duncan Baxter

I have been playing since the Commodore 64 days and have basically played every console going since then including the Ouya! I have been a fan of cloud gaming since the Onlive days and that was my favorite platform. Cloud gaming will revolutionize how we play games going forward and it is just a matter of time when it takes off.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: