Cloudy with a Chance of Games

Esports consultant and insider Slasher has received a leaked press release stating that Twitch Prime is changing to Twitch Gaming. This is a move away from Twitch brand and to the more mainstream Amazon labeling to Prime Gaming. In the document, it states under Emotional Benefits “Enjoy exploration of new games to play and new ways to play.” We do know that Project Tempo, Amazons Cloud Gaming service, was due to come this year but appears to have slipped to next year.

This move was unexpected and the Twitch community is a little unsure of how to take the news. This appears for the time being just to be a name change and all the benefits of the existing Twitch Prime membership will remain but under the Prime Gaming umbrella.

My speculation is that this is laying the groundwork for Project Tempo to be incorporated into this to be called Prime Gaming to go along with their Prime Video. This move, however, is bringing Twitch closer into the Amazon family. According to the pictures above we will find out 11 AM PST/1 PM EST/19:00 CET today about this.

Remember to follow us on TwitterFacebook and YouTube

By Duncan Baxter

I have been playing since the Commodore 64 days and have basically played every console going since then including the Ouya! I have been a fan of cloud gaming since the Onlive days and that was my favorite platform. Cloud gaming will revolutionize how we play games going forward and it is just a matter of time when it takes off.

Leave a Reply